The growing number of certifications documented on this site are organized into the following major groupings:



The independent source of educational information for all the major IT certifications.

Copyright © 2007
All rights reserved. Certification.Info
> Home > Contact > About > FAQ > Certificates

GSEC - GIAC Security Essentials Certification


The GSEC is a security certification that demonstrates that the owner has the basics of security. This is more technical then the GISF and a wider range of technical security is covered.

It is maintained by the SANS Institute (SysAdmin, Audit, Network, Security).


The GISF is a hands-on certification that covers many of the concepts of security such as Password Management, PGP, Unix Security and others.

The SANS Institute offers a course for preparing for this certification. The course is called SANS Security Essentials Bootcamp Style and is listed as SEC-401.

The course can be taken through self-study or via a SANS conference or course.

Three separate levels are available through the GIAC certification tree (of which GSEC is part). By completing this certification, the individual is at the Silver level of certification.

The Gold level of certification requires the candidate to write a detailed technical report/white paper. If the paper is accepted, they will be certified as Gold level.

The Platinum level is the highest certification available and requires multiple Silver certifications. To obtain this certification, extensive testing, research and assignments are required.

Certification Criteria:

To be considered certified, the following criteria must be satisfied:

  1. The candidate must pay an examination fee. This fee can be added onto a self-study course, a conference course or paid by itself (called a challenge certificate);
  2. The candidate must pass two online exams, both multiple choice with time limits.
This certification must be renewed every four years.


GSEC Information